Frequently asked questions
  About us
News & Events

28/12/2010:  Commissioning Date

01/03/2011: Commercial Operation Date

16/03/2011: Completion Date


The West African Gas Pipeline Authority (“WAGP Authority” or “WAGPA”) is an international institution established by the Treaty on the West African Gas Pipeline (“WAGP”) Project signed by the Heads of States of the Republic of Benin, the Republic of Ghana, the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the Republic of Togo (State Parties). WAGPA has a legal personality and a financial autonomy. WAGPA has representation functions (to take actions and decisions in the name and on behalf of the State Parties), facilitation functions and regulatory functions.

Official languages

The official languages of the WAGP Authority are English and French.


WAGPA has a Director General who is the Chief Executive Officer. The Director General is a national of a State Party and is appointed for a term of five (5) years, renewable, by the Committee of Ministers upon the recommendation of the Board of Governors from candidates that are qualified for the position.

The Board of Governors is composed of four (4) members appointed for a term of four (4) years. Each member is appointed by the Head of State of the relevant State Party.
The Committee of Ministers is composed of the Relevant Minister of each State Party. ECOWAS Commission is invited to attend all meetings of the Committee of Ministers as an observer.

Copyright 2016. All Right Reserved.
map name="Map2" id="Map2">